CSA restructure domestic cricket, reduce teams & player contracts

Source : IANS 2021-01-02 15:43:14

Cricket South Africa has announced the restructuring of its domestic cricket by doing away with the previous system that had 13 provincial teams and six franchise teams and instead bringing in a new format with 15 teams that will be divided into two divisions.

Under the new structure, the current six-team franchise cricket make-up (including provincial teams) will be dissolved and replaced by a 15-team first-class system. The format will see the teams split 8-7 into a Division 1 and Division 2 arrangement with automatic promotion and relegation to be implemented.